Science and Information Subcommittee

In 2016, EPA formed the Science and Information Subcommittee (SIS), an independently appointed subcommittee of the Great Lakes Advisory Board, in response to the GLAB’s call for a standing science panel. The SIS will assist the Board in providing ongoing advice to the Administrator in her capacity as Chair of the Interagency Task Force (IATF) on Great Lakes technical issues, including on adaptive management, the process of learning from past decisions to make GLRI decisions more effective. The SIS may provide other recommendations as requested by the IATF.

Co-Chairs of the subcommittee are:

  • J David Allan, Co-Chair
    Professor Emeritus, University of Michigan
  • Joan Rose, Co Chair
    Professor, Michigan State University

Other members are:

  • Kathryn Buckner – President,
    Council of Great Lakes Industries
  • Steve Cole – Chief Information Officer,
    Great Lakes Commission
  • Abigail Derby Lewis – Conservation Ecologist,
    The Field Museum
  • Hugh Gorman – Professor,
    Michigan Technological University
  • Galen McKinley – Associate Professor,
    University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • Kelli Paige – Executive Director,
    Great Lakes Observing System
  • James Ridgway – Vice President,
    Environmental Consulting & Technology, Inc.
  • Michelle Selzer – Lake Coordinator,
    Michigan Office of the Great Lakes
  • Dr. Alan Steinman – Professor,
    Grand Valley State University
  • Dr. Deborah Swackhamer – Professor Emeritus,
    University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Michael Twiss – Professor,
    Clarkson University


Contact: Rita Cestaric ( SIS Designated Federal Officer (DFO)



About Federal Advisory Committees

FACA committees are created to obtain advice on a wide range of environmental issues. Every committee meeting, no matter what the subject matter or where it is held, is dedicated to open government and citizen participation.

2016 Stockholm Water Prize

H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden presents Professor Joan Rose with the 2016 Stockholm Water Prize.

In March, Professor Joan Rose was named the 2016 Stockholm Water Prize Laureate for her tireless contributions to global public health: in assessing risks to human health in water and creating guidelines and tools for decision makers and communities to improve global health.

The Stockholm Water Prize is a global award founded in 1991 and presented annually by the Stockholm International Water Institute to an individual, organization or institution for outstanding water related achievements. The Stockholm Water Prize Laureate receives $150,000 and a specially designed sculpture. H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden is patron of the prize.